Rapport om gjennomføringen av visumkodeksen


Rapport fra Kommisjonen til Rådet og Europaparlamentet om hvordan det lokale Schengen-samarbeid har fungert i de to første år av gjennomføringen av visumkodeksen

Report from the Commission to the Council and the European Parliament on the functioning of Local Schengen Cooperation during the first two years of implementation of the Visa Code

Siste nytt

Rapport lagt fram av Kommisjonen 7.11.2012

Nærmere omtale

BAKGRUNN (fra Kommisjonens pressemelding 7.11.2012, engelsk utgave)

Report on the functioning of Local Schengen cooperation
Today the Commission also adopted a report on the functioning of the Local Schengen Cooperation'. The report evaluates the first two years of implementation of the EU Visa Code and makes concrete recommendations for how cooperation can be improved in the future, for instance by burden sharing of all involved actors. Improved local Schengen cooperation, particularly on the harmonisation of practices, will contribute to strengthening the credibility of the EU common visa policy and will ensure that all visa applicants receive equal, fair and transparent treatment.

Today's proposal to transfer these 16 countries to the visa-free list by amending Regulation 539/2001 is the result of the regular review process carried out by the European Commission. It is based on a case by case assessment of technical requirements and criteria relating, amongst others, to irregular migration, public policy and security, and to the European Union's external relations with third countries.

Since its adoption, the Visa Regulation has been amended eight times. Most recently, in 2010 when Taiwan, Albania and Bosnia and Herzegovina were transferred to the visa-free list.

Currently, the Schengen area includes 22 EU Member States and four associated States (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland). Once nationals from these non-EU countries enter the Schengen area, they can move freely from one country to another. The visa waiver will also apply to Romania, Bulgaria and Cyprus which are not yet full members of the Schengen area.

The UK and Ireland do not participate in the Schengen cooperation and do not take part in the common visa policy. They therefore have separate visa arrangements with non-EU countries.

In 2011, EU Member States and the countries participating in the Schengen cooperation issued around 12 million visas.

The provisions of the Visa Code (Regulation (EC) 810/2009) are applied universally by Member States’ consulates. However, given the differences in local circumstances it is essential to have a coherent cooperation among Member States and the Commission so that there is a harmonised application of the general legal provisions at the same time as local circumstances are taken into account.

Within the Local Schengen Cooperation, work is carried out for instance to assess whether Member States need to harmonise lists of supporting documents to be submitted by visa applicants in a given country. In 2011, the Commission already took two Decisions on such harmonised lists covering around 20 locations in key third countries like China, Turkey, Saudi Arabia and Indonesia. These lists contribute to ensuring that visa applicants receive equal treatment in line with the provisions of the Visa Code.